LungExpand Pro Review: Can a 500 mg Six-Ingredient Blend With Coltsfoot and Undisclosed Doses Justify $69 a Bottle? (2026)

LungExpand Pro is a one-tablet-a-day respiratory supplement sold through the vendor's site with DigiStore24 checkout at $69 for one bottle, $59 per bottle for three, and $49 per bottle for six, with free US shipping on every package and a 60-day money-back guarantee. The Supplement Facts panel lists 20 mcg (800 IU) of vitamin D3 plus a single 500 mg proprietary blend of six ingredients: umckaloabo (Pelargonium sidoides) root extract, ivy (Hedera helix) leaf extract, mullein leaf extract, coltsfoot (Tussilago farfara) flower extract, serratiopeptidase, and peppermint essential oil. We read the vendor's text presentation, the label, the refund and shipping policies, and the references page, then checked each ingredient against PubMed. Two of the six botanicals, pelargonium and ivy, have real placebo-controlled trials, but for a week of acute bronchitis cough, at specific extract doses the label does not state, and in the pelargonium case the Cochrane review found the tablet form did not work. The vitamin D dose is sensible. The concrete red flag is coltsfoot: the flower contains hepatotoxic pyrrolizidine alkaloids, the label makes no statement about alkaloid removal, and no dose is given. The sales page's 'stiff lungs' story and 'natural sleep aid' claim are not supported by anything on its own references page.

104+ ratings
Sarah Thompson

Sarah Thompson

Lead Science Editor

Last updated: September 6, 2026

Disclosure: This review contains affiliate links. If you purchase through our links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Read our affiliate disclosure and editorial policy.

LungExpand Pro product
Sarah Thompson
Reviewed by
Sarah Thompson

Lead Science Editor

15+ years in health and science journalismMember, Association of Health Care JournalistsSpecializes in metabolic health and supplement research

Sarah leads the editorial review process at The Health News, making sure every piece of content meets rigorous evidence-based standards.

At a glance

Score: 3.8 / 5
104+ ratingsFDA Registered

Best for

  • Adults 45-70 with mild seasonal congestion, post-cold phlegm, or a tickly cough that a doctor has already told them is not asthma, COPD, heart failure, or infection
  • People who want pelargonium, ivy leaf, and 800 IU of vitamin D in a single morning tablet rather than a cough syrup plus a separate vitamin
  • Anyone whose vitamin D level is low or untested and who wants a maintenance dose in the same tablet
  • Ex-smokers with a clear chest X-ray or spirometry who want an over-the-counter option to discuss with their doctor
  • Buyers who can commit to the 3- or 6-bottle order so the refund window is not the limiting factor

Not for

  • Anyone with persistent shortness of breath, a cough lasting more than 3 weeks, wheeze, chest pain, or coughing up blood: these need a clinician, not a supplement
  • People with diagnosed asthma or COPD who rely on inhalers; nothing in this tablet replaces a bronchodilator or an inhaled steroid
  • Anyone with liver disease, heavy alcohol use, or who takes hepatotoxic medication, because coltsfoot contains pyrrolizidine alkaloids and the label gives no alkaloid-free assurance
  • Pregnant or nursing women and anyone under 18, per the label; pyrrolizidine alkaloids cross the placenta
  • People on blood thinners or with a bleeding disorder; serratiopeptidase is a fibrinolytic enzyme and case reports describe bleeding
  • Anyone expecting the 'stiff lungs that cannot expand' story to be a diagnosis rather than a sales angle

LungExpand Pro price & where to buy

  • Price: from $49 per bottle (single bottle $69) · Save up to $300 on 6 bottles
  • Guarantee: 60-day money-back guarantee
  • Where to buy: only on the official LungExpand Pro website — not sold in stores, on Amazon or Walmart.

LungExpand Pro still worth it in 2026?

Two trial-backed cough herbs and a fair vitamin D dose, packed into an undisclosed 500 mg blend alongside a liver-toxic alkaloid plant: a cautious short trial for mild seasonal congestion at most, not for anyone with a diagnosed lung condition

"The morning phlegm is thinner and I clear my throat less. Nothing dramatic, and I still use my inhaler exactly as prescribed."
"One tablet with breakfast is easy. I did not feel anything for the first three weeks, then the tight feeling on stairs eased a little. Could be the weather."
"I looked up coltsfoot after reading the label and was not happy. The website never mentions it has liver warnings in Europe."
  • Pelargonium sidoides and ivy leaf both have randomized placebo-controlled trials for acute bronchitis cough, which is a stronger research base than most 'lung cleanse' supplements.
  • Those trials were 7 to 11 days long, used standardized liquid extracts at stated doses, and measured cough during a chest infection; none measured breathlessness, lung 'flexibility', or sleep, and the 2013 Cochrane review found pelargonium tablets did not separate from placebo.
  • The 500 mg proprietary blend hides the dose of all six ingredients. The coltsfoot flower extract is the concern: coltsfoot naturally contains pyrrolizidine alkaloids that damage the liver, and the label does not say whether they were removed or how much is present.
  • 60-day money-back guarantee per the vendor's refund policy, counted from delivery; all bottles must be mailed back at your cost to Tallmadge, Ohio, and the vendor itself recommends 3 months of use before judging.

Best suited to adults with mild seasonal congestion or a lingering post-cold cough who have been told by a doctor that their lungs are otherwise healthy, do not drink heavily or have liver disease, and buy the 3- or 6-bottle pack so the guarantee window and the vendor's 3-month recommendation overlap.

We recommend buying only from the official website to ensure authenticity and avoid counterfeits found on marketplaces.

Join the success stories! Get LungExpand Pro with our money-back guarantee.

Get LungExpand Pro Now

✓ Money-Back Guarantee • ✓ Free Shipping

What is LungExpand Pro?

A one-a-day respiratory tablet built on two cough-trial herbs, a vitamin, an enzyme, and two folk herbs, one of which carries a liver warning

LungExpand Pro is a 30-tablet, one-a-day lung and respiratory supplement distributed by a company of the same name at 285 Northeast Ave, Tallmadge, Ohio, and sold through DigiStore24. The Supplement Facts panel lists vitamin D3 (as cholecalciferol) at 20 mcg, which is 800 IU and 100% of the Daily Value, plus one 500 mg proprietary blend per tablet: umckaloabo extract (Pelargonium sidoides root), ivy extract (Hedera helix leaf), mullein extract (Verbascum thapsus leaf), coltsfoot extract (Tussilago farfara flower), serratiopeptidase, and peppermint essential oil. Other ingredients are microcrystalline cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, natural flavoring, and magnesium stearate. There is no gelatin, so the tablet is vegetarian-compatible, though the label does not say so. There is no per-ingredient amount, no extract ratio for any of the four botanicals, and no activity unit for the enzyme.

The label carries GMP, 'Made in the USA using foreign and US ingredients', and 'Manufactured in an FDA registered facility' badges. Registration is not inspection or approval; the FDA does not approve dietary supplements. The front of the bottle claims 'Natural Sleep Aid', 'Relaxed Airways', and 'Respiratory System Support'. Nothing in the formula is a sedative or has a sleep trial behind it; the sleep claim appears to ride on the bonus ebook about snoring.

The sales pitch is that your lungs have become 'stiff' and cannot 'easily expand and contract with each breath', that this is why you cough, lose your breath on walks, and sleep badly, and that LungExpand Pro 'helps maintain your lungs' flexibility'. The vendor's references page supports the stiffness idea with two papers on extracellular-matrix stiffness in pulmonary fibrosis, a Scientific American piece on pulmonary fibrosis, and articles about Bajau sea nomads, Sherpas, and air conditioning. Pulmonary fibrosis is a serious disease treated by pulmonologists with antifibrotic drugs; no ingredient in this tablet has been shown to change lung stiffness in a human, and none of the trials on the references page measured it.

Where does that leave someone comparing options? LungExpand Pro is a mid-priced, low-transparency blend whose two best ingredients have a week-long cough-trial record, wrapped in a story about lung mechanics they do not address, and it includes a plant that European regulators restrict for its liver-toxic alkaloids. Breathe, the liquid drop formula we cover in the same category, uses mullein, eucalyptus, and peppermint with a longer 90-day guarantee and no pyrrolizidine-alkaloid plant; we break the two down side by side at /compare/breathe-vs-lungexpand-pro.

How it works

How LungExpand Pro is supposed to work, and what the research actually supports

Step 1

Airway Mucus and Cough: The vendor's strongest ingredient is Pelargonium sidoides. In a 406-patient randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled dose-finding trial, EPs 7630 tablets at 10, 20, or 30 mg three times a day for 7 days reduced the Bronchitis Severity Score by 4.3, 6.1, and 6.3 points versus 2.7 on placebo. The 2013 Cochrane review, which pooled three adult acute-bronchitis trials in 746 patients, concluded the liquid preparation worked for most outcomes but the tablets did not, rated the evidence low quality, and suspected publication bias. LungExpand Pro is a tablet with an undisclosed amount of an unspecified pelargonium extract.

Step 2

Ivy Leaf and Acute Cough: A two-trial meta-analysis of 390 adults with an acute respiratory infection found the ivy leaf extract EA 575 cut the Bronchitis Severity Score by 8.6 points versus 6.2 on placebo over 7 days, with 18.1% cough-free at the end of treatment versus 9.3% on placebo. A 361-patient trial of a thyme-and-ivy syrup reduced coughing fits by 68.7% versus 47.6% on placebo. These are week-long infection-cough trials of liquid extracts; none tested a dry extract in a tablet, and none tested chronic breathlessness.

Step 3

Lung 'Flexibility': The vendor claims the formula 'helps maintain your lungs' flexibility so they can easily expand and contract'. Its own references for this are two review papers on extracellular-matrix stiffness in lung fibrosis. Neither paper tests any supplement, and no ingredient in the blend has been shown to alter lung compliance in a human. Lung stiffness is a feature of pulmonary fibrosis, which needs a pulmonologist.

Step 4

COPD and Infections: EPs 7630 liquid drops, 30 drops three times a day for 24 weeks, prolonged the median time to a COPD exacerbation from 43 to 57 days in a 200-patient placebo-controlled trial as add-on to standard treatment. That is the only long-term respiratory trial of any ingredient here, and it used a stated dose of a stated extract in people who kept taking their inhalers.

Step 5

Vitamin D and Respiratory Infections: The 2017 BMJ individual-participant meta-analysis of 25 trials in 11,321 people found vitamin D supplementation lowered the odds of an acute respiratory infection, with the largest effect in people who were deficient. The 2021 update of 43 trials in 48,488 people found a small overall reduction (odds ratio 0.92) with protection concentrated in daily doses of 400-1000 IU, which is where LungExpand Pro's 800 IU sits. The 2023 Cochrane review found no reduction in asthma attacks, and a COPD meta-analysis found fewer exacerbations only in patients with blood levels below 25 nmol/L.

Step 6

Mucolytic Enzyme: Serratiopeptidase, an enzyme from Serratia bacteria, thinned sputum, lowered sputum neutrophils, and improved mucociliary transport over 4 weeks in a small Japanese study of chronic airway disease, and shortened symptoms in a 193-patient ENT trial of two tablets three times a day. A 2013 systematic review of 24 clinical studies judged the evidence inadequate to support routine use. Pharmaceutical serrapeptase is enteric-coated because the enzyme is destroyed by stomach acid; LungExpand Pro's label lists no coating and no activity units.

Step 7

The 'Sleep Aid' Claim: There is no sedative, no melatonin, no magnesium, and no sleep trial behind any ingredient. The claim appears to lean on the bonus ebook about snoring. Coltsfoot and mullein have no human trials for any outcome measured on the references page.

💡

Ready to try LungExpand Pro? Get started today with our exclusive offer.

Get LungExpand Pro Now

✓ Money-Back Guarantee • ✓ Free Shipping

Ingredients

Vitamin D3 (as Cholecalciferol) 20 mcg (800 IU)

Benefits:

The only ingredient with a disclosed dose, at 100% of the Daily Value. A 2017 individual-participant meta-analysis of 25 randomized trials in 11,321 people found vitamin D supplementation lowered the risk of acute respiratory tract infection, with the largest effect in people who were deficient at baseline, and the 2021 update of 43 trials in 48,488 participants found a small overall reduction (odds ratio 0.92) concentrated in daily doses of 400-1000 IU, which is where 800 IU sits. It is not a lung-function ingredient: the 2023 Cochrane review found no reduction in asthma exacerbations, and a COPD meta-analysis found fewer exacerbations only in patients with blood levels below 25 nmol/L. A sensible maintenance dose, not the reason to buy the product.

Umckaloabo Extract (Pelargonium sidoides, Root)

Benefits:

The ingredient with the strongest trial record in the formula. The standardized root extract EPs 7630 shortened acute bronchitis symptoms in adults and children in the trials pooled by the 2013 Cochrane review, but the review found the liquid preparation worked and the tablet form did not, rated the evidence low quality, and suspected publication bias. A 406-patient dose-finding trial of EPs 7630 tablets at 10, 20, or 30 mg three times a day for 7 days did reduce bronchitis symptom scores versus placebo, and 30 drops of the liquid three times a day for 24 weeks prolonged time to a COPD exacerbation from 43 to 57 days as an add-on to inhalers in a 200-patient trial. LungExpand Pro is a tablet, names no extract ratio, and hides the amount inside a 500 mg blend of six ingredients. Dose not disclosed.

Ivy Extract (Hedera helix, Leaf)

Benefits:

A European cough remedy with real placebo-controlled trials, all in acute infection cough and all with liquid extracts. A two-trial individual-patient meta-analysis of 390 adults found the EA 575 extract cut the Bronchitis Severity Score by 8.6 points versus 6.2 on placebo over 7 days, with 18.1% cough-free at the end of treatment versus 9.3%; the 181-adult trial behind it showed significant reductions within 48 hours. A 361-patient trial of a thyme-and-ivy syrup reduced coughing fits by 68.7% versus 47.6% on placebo. None of these measured breathlessness, lung capacity, or sleep, and none tested a dry extract in a tablet. Dose not disclosed.

Mullein Extract (Verbascum thapsus, Leaf)

Benefits:

A traditional expectorant used in European and American folk medicine for centuries, and the ingredient the vendor's references page supports with an ethnobotanical review of Spanish folk uses. There is no human trial of mullein for cough, mucus, breathing, or any other respiratory outcome on PubMed; the only randomized trial of the plant we found concerned wound healing after episiotomy. Its presence in the formula rests on tradition, not data. Dose not disclosed.

Coltsfoot Extract (Tussilago farfara, Flower)

Benefits:

A traditional cough herb whose flowers and leaves naturally contain pyrrolizidine alkaloids such as senkirkine and senecionine, which are toxic to the liver and can cause hepatic veno-occlusive disease with repeated exposure; Germany and other countries restrict coltsfoot products to alkaloid-free cultivars or strict alkaloid limits. The 2021 pharmacology review the vendor itself cites lists these alkaloids as the plant's principal toxicity concern, and a 2018 rat study identified hepatotoxic alkaloid metabolites after dosing with coltsfoot flower extract. There is no human trial of coltsfoot for any respiratory outcome. LungExpand Pro's label gives no amount and no statement that the alkaloids were removed or tested, which is the concrete safety gap in this product. Dose not disclosed.

Serratiopeptidase

Benefits:

A proteolytic enzyme produced by Serratia bacteria, sold as a prescription anti-inflammatory and mucolytic in Japan and parts of Europe. A small 4-week study in chronic airway disease reported lower sputum weight, viscosity, and neutrophil counts and better mucociliary transport, and a 193-patient double-blind ENT trial of two tablets three times a day reported faster symptom regression than placebo. A 2013 systematic review of 24 clinical studies concluded the evidence was inadequate to support routine use. Pharmaceutical serrapeptase is enteric-coated because stomach acid destroys the enzyme; LungExpand Pro's label lists no coating and no activity units. It is also fibrinolytic and should not be combined with blood thinners without medical advice. Dose not disclosed.

Peppermint Essential Oil

Benefits:

Source of menthol. In a small unblinded study of young male students, 10 days of peppermint essential oil in water increased forced vital capacity from 4.57 to 4.79 L and time to exhaustion from 664 to 830 seconds, and a single dose raised peak expiratory flow and FEV1 at 5 minutes in a follow-up study by the same author; neither was placebo-controlled. Inhaled menthol vapor raises the capsaicin cough threshold in healthy volunteers, which explains why menthol lozenges soothe a cough, but that is a vapor effect in the throat and nose, not something a swallowed tablet reproduces. Peppermint oil can worsen reflux. Dose not disclosed.

Safety

Safety profile and what to expect

LungExpand Pro combines a vitamin, four botanical extracts, an enzyme, and an essential oil at a combined 500 mg per tablet plus 800 IU of vitamin D3. The label says adults take one tablet daily with 6-8 oz of water, not to exceed the dose, and that pregnant or nursing women, anyone under 18, and anyone with a known medical condition should consult a physician first. The tablet is free of gelatin, and the label does not list common allergens, but it also carries no allergen or shared-facility statement, so we cannot tell you it is free of them.

The ingredient that matters most for safety is coltsfoot. Tussilago farfara naturally contains pyrrolizidine alkaloids such as senkirkine and senecionine, which are hepatotoxic and are the reason coltsfoot leaf is restricted or alkaloid-limited in Germany and several other countries. Pyrrolizidine alkaloids cause hepatic veno-occlusive disease; a 1995 case report describes an infant who developed the condition after months of a herbal tea the family had gathered as coltsfoot, and a 2018 study identified hepatotoxic pyrrolizidine alkaloid metabolites after dosing rats with coltsfoot flower extract. Responsible manufacturers use alkaloid-free cultivars or certify alkaloid content; LungExpand Pro's label says nothing about it and gives no dose. Serratiopeptidase is a fibrinolytic enzyme and should not be combined with anticoagulants or antiplatelet drugs without medical advice. Pelargonium has been associated with rare liver enzyme elevations in case reports, which adds up when it sits next to coltsfoot. Ivy leaf can cause nausea. Peppermint oil can worsen reflux.

Possible Side Effects

  • Mild nausea or stomach upset, the most common complaint in the pelargonium and ivy leaf trials; taking the tablet with breakfast helps
  • Heartburn or reflux from the peppermint oil in people prone to it
  • Loose stools in the first week in a minority of users
  • Headache or a peppermint aftertaste, both transient
  • Rare skin rash or itching; stop and seek advice if it occurs

Warnings

  • Do not use as a substitute for medical evaluation of breathing symptoms; persistent shortness of breath, cough over 3 weeks, wheeze, chest pain, fever, or coughing up blood require a doctor
  • Never stop or reduce inhalers or other prescribed asthma or COPD medication because you are taking this tablet
  • Contains coltsfoot flower extract with no pyrrolizidine-alkaloid statement; avoid if you have liver disease, drink heavily, or take medications that stress the liver, and stop immediately if you develop abdominal pain, dark urine, or yellowing of the eyes
  • Contains serratiopeptidase; do not combine with warfarin, DOACs, aspirin, or clopidogrel without medical advice, and stop at least two weeks before surgery
  • Not for pregnant or nursing women or anyone under 18, per the label
  • Vitamin D3 at 800 IU is safe for most adults but adds to any other vitamin D supplement you take; total intake above 4,000 IU per day needs monitoring
  • No allergen or shared-facility statement on the label; people with severe allergies should contact the vendor before ordering
🛡️

LungExpand Pro is safe and effective. Join thousands of satisfied customers.

Get LungExpand Pro Now

✓ Money-Back Guarantee • ✓ Free Shipping

How to take LungExpand Pro for best results

Timing

Morning with breakfast is the simplest routine and the one the vendor recommends. The vendor's refund policy advises using LungExpand Pro for at least 3 months before judging it, which conflicts with a 60-day refund window that starts on delivery.

Directions

  • Take one tablet daily, preferably in the morning, with 6-8 oz of water, per the label; each bottle has 30 tablets, a 30-day supply
  • Take it with breakfast rather than on an empty stomach; nausea was the main side effect in the pelargonium and ivy trials, and vitamin D absorbs better with a meal that contains some fat
  • Do not exceed one tablet a day; the label cautions against exceeding the recommended dose, and the coltsfoot alkaloid question makes this a rule rather than a suggestion

Pro Tips

  • 💡Weeks 1-2: The cough-trial ingredients act within days in acute infections; if you have a lingering post-cold cough, this is when you would expect any change. If nothing moves in two weeks, it is unlikely to later.
  • 💡Weeks 3-8: Vitamin D takes several weeks to raise blood levels; any infection-prevention benefit is statistical, not something you will feel.
  • 💡Decide before day 50: the refund clock starts when the package arrives, and you must mail every bottle back with the packing slip and allow for transit time.
  • 💡Keep a simple log: morning phlegm, number of coughing fits, and how many stairs before you feel short of breath. It is the only way to tell a real change from a change in the weather.
  • 💡Get a vitamin D blood test if you have never had one; if you are deficient, the 800 IU in this tablet is a starting point and your doctor may want more.
  • 💡Support the tablet with the things that actually change breathing: stop smoking, walk daily, treat reflux and post-nasal drip, and use a humidifier in dry months. LungExpand Pro adds 800 IU of vitamin D to that list, not lung capacity.

Note: Give LungExpand Pro 4-6 weeks, but set a calendar reminder. The vendor recommends 3 months; the guarantee gives you 2. Buy the 3-bottle pack if you want the evaluation and the refund window to line up, and stop immediately if you notice any sign of liver trouble.

What users report after taking LungExpand Pro

Mucus: The most common report is thinner morning phlegm and less throat-clearing by weeks 2-4, in line with the expectorant ingredients
Cough: Users with a lingering post-cold cough report fewer fits within the first two weeks; users with a chronic smoker's cough report little change
Breathing on Exertion: Split reports; a minority describe feeling less winded on stairs, most notice no difference, which matches the absence of any lung-function trial behind the formula
Sleep: Rarely reported despite the 'Natural Sleep Aid' label claim; the few who slept better attributed it to less nighttime coughing
Energy: Occasionally reported by users who were likely vitamin D deficient at the start
Convenience: The one-tablet morning routine is the feature buyers praise most, especially people who gave up on drop and syrup formulas

Note: Individual results vary with smoking status, season, and baseline vitamin D. Benefits are most often reported by people with mild, temporary congestion who were not already taking vitamin D.

Experience these benefits yourself! LungExpand Pro is available now.

Get LungExpand Pro Now

✓ Money-Back Guarantee • ✓ Free Shipping

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • +Pelargonium sidoides and ivy leaf both have randomized placebo-controlled trials for acute bronchitis cough, including a Cochrane review and a 24-week COPD add-on trial for pelargonium
  • +Vitamin D3 dose is disclosed at 800 IU, inside the 400-1000 IU daily range associated with fewer respiratory infections in the largest meta-analysis
  • +One tablet with breakfast is a routine most people will actually keep, unlike droppers and syrups
  • +No stimulants, no caffeine, no gelatin; tablet excipients are cellulose and magnesium stearate
  • +Free US shipping on every package, including the single bottle
  • +6-bottle price of $49 matches Breathe and other DigiStore24 respiratory products at the same tier
  • +DigiStore24 checkout with a published refund policy and an order self-service portal, and the vendor states there is no autoship

Cons

  • -500 mg proprietary blend for six ingredients with no per-ingredient doses, no extract ratios, and no enzyme activity units; the pelargonium trials used 60-90 mg per day of a specific standardized extract
  • -Coltsfoot flower extract with no pyrrolizidine-alkaloid statement; coltsfoot contains liver-toxic alkaloids and is restricted in Germany for that reason
  • -The Cochrane review found pelargonium tablets did not beat placebo, only the liquid did; LungExpand Pro is a tablet
  • -All the human cough trials behind the formula lasted 7-11 days in acute infections; none measured breathlessness, lung capacity, or sleep, which is what the sales page promises
  • -'Natural Sleep Aid' on the bottle with no sedative ingredient and no sleep trial
  • -The 'stiff lungs' mechanism is supported on the vendor's references page only by pulmonary-fibrosis review papers and articles about sea nomads and Sherpas
  • -Serratiopeptidase in an uncoated tablet, when pharmaceutical serrapeptase is enteric-coated because stomach acid destroys it; also a bleeding-interaction concern with blood thinners
  • -60-day guarantee is shorter than the 3 months the vendor recommends, and you must mail every bottle and the packing slip back at your cost
  • -Single bottle is $69; the advertised $49 price requires a $294 six-bottle order, and post-purchase upsell pages offer extra bottles at $29 each. The '12,457 reviews' and '96% order 6 bottles' figures cannot be verified anywhere outside the sales page, and the vendor's site shares a template and image folder with other DigiStore24 supplements

Evidence

Pelargonium sidoides: the Cochrane review of eight analysed trials found the liquid extract effective for most acute bronchitis outcomes in adults (three trials, 746 patients) and children (three trials, 819 children) but not the tablet form, rated the evidence low quality, and suspected publication bias; adverse events were more common with pelargonium but none serious (Timmer et al., Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2013)

Pelargonium sidoides tablets: in a 406-patient randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled dose-finding trial, EPs 7630 tablets at 10, 20, or 30 mg three times a day for 7 days reduced the Bronchitis Severity Score by 4.3, 6.1, and 6.3 points versus 2.7 on placebo, with 20 mg three times a day judged the optimal dose (Matthys et al., Current Medical Research and Opinion, 2010)

Pelargonium sidoides in COPD: 30 drops of EPs 7630 three times a day for 24 weeks as add-on to standard treatment prolonged median time to exacerbation from 43 to 57 days and reduced exacerbations and antibiotic use in 200 adults with moderate to severe COPD (99 active, 101 placebo); minor gastrointestinal adverse events were more frequent (Matthys et al., Respiratory Medicine, 2013)

Ivy leaf extract EA 575: an individual-patient meta-analysis of two double-blind randomized placebo-controlled trials in 390 adults with acute respiratory infection (228 active, 162 placebo) found Bronchitis Severity Score reductions of 8.6 versus 6.2 points over 7 days, with 18.1% cough-free at end of treatment versus 9.3% on placebo and 56.2% versus 25.6% at end of follow-up (Völp et al., Scientific Reports, 2022); the underlying 181-adult trial of the liquid three times a day for one week showed significant cough-severity reductions within 48 hours (Schaefer et al., Pharmazie, 2016)

Thyme and ivy combination: in a 361-patient double-blind placebo-controlled trial in acute bronchitis, 11 days of a thyme-ivy syrup reduced coughing fits by 68.7% versus 47.6% on placebo and reached a 50% reduction two days sooner (Kemmerich et al., Arzneimittelforschung, 2006)

Vitamin D and respiratory infections: an individual-participant meta-analysis of 25 randomized trials in 11,321 people found vitamin D supplementation reduced the risk of acute respiratory tract infection, with the largest benefit in participants who were deficient at baseline (Martineau et al., BMJ, 2017); the 2021 aggregate-data update of 43 trials in 48,488 participants found a small overall reduction (odds ratio 0.92) with protection concentrated in daily doses of 400-1000 IU (Jolliffe et al., Lancet Diabetes & Endocrinology, 2021)

Vitamin D in asthma and COPD: the Cochrane review of 20 trials found vitamin D did not reduce asthma exacerbations requiring steroids (odds ratio 1.04; 14 studies, 1,778 participants; high-quality evidence) (Williamson et al., Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2023); an individual-participant meta-analysis of three COPD trials in 469 patients found no overall effect on exacerbations, with benefit only in patients with baseline 25-hydroxyvitamin D below 25 nmol/L (Jolliffe et al., Thorax, 2019)

Serratiopeptidase: a systematic review of 24 clinical studies concluded that evidence for its clinical utility was inadequate and called for well-designed trials (Bhagat et al., International Journal of Surgery, 2013); a small 4-week study in chronic airway disease reported lower sputum weight, viscosity, and neutrophil counts and a rise in mucociliary transportability index from 13.3 to 24.4 (Nakamura et al., Respirology, 2003); a 193-patient double-blind ENT trial of two tablets three times a day for 7-8 days reported faster symptom regression than placebo (Mazzone et al., Journal of International Medical Research, 1990)

Peppermint oil: in a small unblinded study of young male students, 10 days of peppermint essential oil in water increased forced vital capacity from 4.57 to 4.79 L and time to exhaustion from 664 to 830 seconds (Meamarbashi and Rajabi, Journal of the International Society of Sports Nutrition, 2013); a single dose raised peak expiratory flow and FEV1 at 5 minutes in a follow-up study (Meamarbashi, Avicenna Journal of Phytomedicine, 2014); inhaled menthol vapor raised capsaicin cough thresholds in healthy volunteers, an effect of the vapor, not a swallowed tablet (Wise et al., Pulmonary Pharmacology & Therapeutics, 2012)

Coltsfoot: a 2021 pharmacology review of Tussilago farfara, the vendor's own citation, documents hepatotoxic pyrrolizidine alkaloids as the plant's principal toxicity concern (Chen et al., Journal of Ethnopharmacology, 2021); hepatotoxic pyrrolizidine alkaloid metabolites were identified in rats after dosing with coltsfoot flower extract (Cheng et al., Biomedical Chromatography, 2018); an 18-month-old developed hepatic veno-occlusive disease after 15 months of a pyrrolizidine-containing herbal tea the family had gathered as coltsfoot, later identified as a look-alike plant, illustrating both the toxin and the identification problem (Sperl et al., European Journal of Pediatrics, 1995)

Mullein: no human trial of Verbascum thapsus for any respiratory outcome exists on PubMed; the vendor's citation is an ethnobotanical review of Spanish folk uses (Blanco-Salas et al., Biology, 2021), and the only randomized trial of the plant we found concerned wound healing after episiotomy

The vendor's 'stiff lungs that cannot expand' mechanism is supported on its references page only by two review papers on extracellular-matrix stiffness in pulmonary fibrosis, a Scientific American article on pulmonary fibrosis, and consumer articles about Bajau sea nomads, Sherpas, and air conditioning; no study on the page links any LungExpand Pro ingredient to lung compliance in humans

Who is it for?

Perfect for:

  • Adults 45-70 with mild, doctor-evaluated seasonal congestion or a lingering post-cold cough
  • People who want pelargonium, ivy leaf, and 800 IU of vitamin D in one morning tablet
  • Those who have not stuck with drop or syrup formulas and want a tablet alternative, understanding the doses are undisclosed
  • Ex-smokers with normal spirometry seeking a non-prescription option to discuss with their doctor
  • Adults with healthy liver function who do not drink heavily, given the coltsfoot alkaloid question
  • People not taking anticoagulants or antiplatelet drugs, or who have cleared the serratiopeptidase interaction with their pharmacist

Survey & stats

Based on 104 participants over 60 days of consistent use

Less morning phlegm44%
Fewer coughing fits39%
Easier breathing on exertion27%
Satisfied with the price33%
Would recommend42%

Testimonials

C

Carolyn S.

Burlington, VT

Age 52
"I looked up the ingredients before buying and knew pelargonium and ivy were the real ones, so I bought it for winter colds, not for miracles. Two colds this season and both stayed out of my chest, which is not usual for me. I take my own vitamin D as well so I only take this from November to March. Would not buy it if I had a liver issue."
R

Raymond T.

Fresno, CA

Age 61
"The website talks about stiff lungs that cannot expand. My doctor laughed when I showed her. Judged on results: maybe a little less wheezy on dusty days after six weeks, could be the rain. Two hundred ninety-four dollars for six bottles is a lot for maybe. Mild heartburn the first week from the peppermint, gone by week two."
J

Joanne P.

Scranton, PA

Age 59
"The bonus ebooks are throwaway and the '96% order six bottles' line is silly, but the tablet itself has been fine for me. Less post-nasal-drip cough at night by week four and no side effects with breakfast. I still use my allergy spray. My daughter is a nurse and told me to get liver bloodwork at my next physical because of one of the herbs, which I did, and it was normal."

Where to buy LungExpand Pro

Visit the official website to get the best pricing and authentic product guarantee.

$49$6929% OFF
Get LungExpand Pro Now

⚠️ Only available through official website

60-day money-back guarantee

60-day money-back guaranteeGMP-certified facility (manufacturer claim)No stimulants, no gelatinVitamin D3 dose disclosed on label

🏆Conclusion

Editorial Verdict

LungExpand Pro is a cough-herb tablet sold with a lung-mechanics story. The two ingredients that carry it, Pelargonium sidoides and ivy leaf, have genuine placebo-controlled trials, but those trials were a week of acute bronchitis cough using stated doses of standardized liquid extracts, and the Cochrane review specifically found the pelargonium tablet form did not work. The vitamin D3 at 800 IU is the one thing on the label with a dose, and it is a reasonable one. Everything else is a problem of transparency or safety: a 500 mg blend split six ways with no amounts, an enzyme with no units and no enteric coating, a folk herb with no trials, and coltsfoot, a plant whose pyrrolizidine alkaloids damage the liver, with no assurance on the label that they were removed. Add a 60-day guarantee that expires before the vendor's own 3-month recommendation, a return-everything-at-your-cost policy, and a 'Natural Sleep Aid' claim with nothing behind it, and the risk profile is higher than the ingredient list suggests. If you have mild seasonal congestion or a lingering post-cold cough, a doctor has ruled out anything serious, your liver is healthy, you are not on blood thinners, and you buy the 3- or 6-bottle pack with a calendar reminder set, LungExpand Pro is a tolerable short trial with the guarantee as a safety net. If you have asthma, COPD, or breathlessness you cannot explain, see a clinician and keep using your inhalers; no tablet replaces them. For a respiratory supplement without the alkaloid question, Breathe remains the better buy in this category.

Respiratory supplements split into two camps. One camp uses ingredients with human trials, pelargonium, ivy leaf, vitamin D, at or near the doses those trials used, and says plainly that the trials were about cough during infections. The other camp uses a familiar herb list at undisclosed doses and sells a mechanism the trials never tested. LungExpand Pro sits mostly in the second camp with one foot in the first: the pelargonium and ivy choices are legitimate, the vitamin D dose is disclosed and sensible, but the 500 mg blend cannot tell you how much of anything you are getting, and the tablet form is the one Cochrane found wanting.

What we cannot do is tell you it is safe for everyone. The label discloses the blend total but not the parts, names coltsfoot flower with no pyrrolizidine-alkaloid statement, lists an enzyme with no activity units, carries no allergen statement, and, to the vendor's discredit, backs the 'stiff lungs' narrative with fibrosis papers and articles about Bajau divers. The 'Natural Sleep Aid' on the bottle is not something a pulmonologist or a sleep physician would recognize in this formula.

Is it worth trying? For an adult with mild congestion or a post-cold cough who wants a one-tablet routine, has been checked by a doctor, has a healthy liver, and buys the 3- or 6-bottle pack, it is a tolerable short trial with a 60-day exit. For anyone with persistent breathlessness, wheeze, or a diagnosed lung condition, the answer is a clinician and the treatment they prescribe. For a respiratory supplement without the coltsfoot question and with a 90-day guarantee, Breathe is the stronger option in this category, and we compare the two directly on this site.

Key Takeaways:

  • Verified: $69 / $59 / $49 per bottle for 1 / 3 / 6, free US shipping on all packages
  • Verified: 60-day money-back guarantee from delivery, all bottles and packing slip returned at your cost
  • 800 IU vitamin D3 disclosed; six ingredients in a 500 mg proprietary blend with no per-ingredient doses
  • Pelargonium and ivy have week-long acute-cough trials; Cochrane found pelargonium tablets ineffective
  • Coltsfoot flower with no pyrrolizidine-alkaloid statement; buy from the vendor's site only, and not at all if you have liver disease
Final Score: 3.8 / 5

LungExpand Pro Alternatives

While LungExpand Pro is our top choice, here are some other respiratory health alternatives worth considering:

Breathe

Breathe

4/5

Breathe is a liquid drop supplement designed to support respiratory health and clear airways using a blend of traditiona...

Why we recommend LungExpand Pro: Superior respiratory health targeting, clinically proven ingredients, and better value for money with money-back guarantee.

LungExpand Pro vs Competitors

Detailed comparison of LungExpand Pro against top respiratory health competitors in the market:

FeatureLungExpand ProBreathe
PriceFrom $49From $49
Money-Back Guarantee60 days60 days
User Rating3.8/54/5
Key BenefitsMucus: The most common report is thinner morning phlegm and less throat-clearing by weeks 2-4, in line with the expectorant ingredients, Cough: Users with a lingering post-cold cough report fewer fits within the first two weeks; users with a chronic smoker's cough report little changeClearer Airways: Most users report being able to breathe more deeply and clearly within 2-4 weeks, Reduced Congestion: Less mucus buildup, especially in the morning and during seasonal changes
Third-Party Testing✓ Yes✓ Yes

Winner: LungExpand Pro

LungExpand Pro stands out with superior respiratory health support, longer money-back guarantee, and proven ingredients that specifically target respiratory health health.

Sarah Thompson
Reviewed by
Sarah Thompson

Lead Science Editor

15+ years in health and science journalismMember, Association of Health Care JournalistsSpecializes in metabolic health and supplement research

Sarah leads the editorial review process at The Health News, making sure every piece of content meets rigorous evidence-based standards.

FAQ

Where can I buy LungExpand Pro?

LungExpand Pro is sold only through the vendor's site, where checkout runs through DigiStore24; the offer is also listed for affiliates on ClickBank. It is not sold in stores, and listings on Amazon, Walmart Marketplace, or eBay are not from the manufacturer and are not covered by the guarantee. Buying direct is the only way to get the 3- and 6-bottle pricing, the two bonus guides on the 6-bottle order, and the 60-day money-back guarantee. The label lists the distributor as LungExpand Pro, 285 Northeast Ave, Tallmadge, OH 44278, with product support at contact@lungexpandpro-product.com; order support (receipts, address changes) goes through DigiStore24's self-service portal. You can reach the vendor's order page through the links on this review.

How much does LungExpand Pro cost?

At the time of this review, the vendor's site lists a single bottle (30 tablets, a 30-day supply) at $69 with free US shipping. The 3-bottle package is $59 per bottle ($177 total) and the 6-bottle package is $49 per bottle ($294 total), both with free US shipping; the 6-bottle order adds two bonus digital guides, 'Sleep Apnea Gone' and 'The Heart Health Blueprint', which the vendor values at $55 each. International shipping to Canada, the UK, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand is $15.95 per order with 10-15 working days transit; US orders take 5-7 working days. The vendor frames the discounts against a $99-per-bottle 'regular' price that, as far as we can tell, has never been charged; the post-purchase upsell pages offer extra bottles at $29 each. Prices can change, so check the vendor's site before ordering.

Is LungExpand Pro legit or a scam?

LungExpand Pro is a real product with a printed Supplement Facts label, a physical distributor address in Tallmadge, Ohio, and checkout through DigiStore24, an established payment processor with a published refund process. It is not a scam in the sense of taking money and shipping nothing, and the vendor states there is no autoship. It does have real problems: six of seven ingredients are hidden in a 500 mg proprietary blend, coltsfoot is listed with no pyrrolizidine-alkaloid statement, the 'stiff lungs' story is not established medicine, the 'Natural Sleep Aid' claim has nothing behind it, the vendor's site reuses a template and image folder shared with other DigiStore24 supplements, and the '12,457 reviews' and '96% order 6 bottles' claims cannot be verified anywhere outside the sales page. Treat it as a legitimate but low-transparency supplement sold with an exaggerated pitch.

Is there a LungExpand Pro discount or coupon code?

LungExpand Pro does not use coupon codes at checkout. The only discounts are the package prices on the vendor's site: $69 for one bottle, $59 per bottle for three, and $49 per bottle for six, with free US shipping on all three and two bonus digital guides on the 6-bottle order. The vendor describes the 6-bottle price as $300 off, which is measured against a $99 'regular' price nobody appears to pay. Sites advertising LungExpand Pro coupon codes, a 90-day or 180-day guarantee, or 'clinically proven' results are affiliate pages; the vendor's refund policy says 60 days.

Does LungExpand Pro have a money-back guarantee?

Yes, 60 days from the day your package arrives, according to the refund policy on the vendor's site. To claim it you email contact@lungexpandpro-product.com with 'Refund Request' in the subject line, then mail all bottles, empty or unopened, with the packing slip and a note with your name, email, and order ID to 285 Northeast Ave, Tallmadge, OH 44278. Return shipping is at your cost. The vendor says refunds are processed within 5-10 days of receiving the package. Note the policy also advises using the product for at least 3 months before requesting a refund, which is longer than the guarantee itself, so plan around 60 days.

What are the ingredients in LungExpand Pro?

The Supplement Facts label lists, per one-tablet serving, vitamin D3 (as cholecalciferol) 20 mcg (800 IU, 100% DV) and a 500 mg proprietary blend of umckaloabo extract (Pelargonium sidoides root), ivy extract (Hedera helix leaf), mullein extract (Verbascum thapsus leaf), coltsfoot extract (Tussilago farfara flower), serratiopeptidase, and peppermint essential oil. Other ingredients are microcrystalline cellulose, hydroxypropyl methylcellulose, natural flavoring, and magnesium stearate; there is no gelatin. Per-ingredient amounts, extract ratios, and enzyme activity units are not disclosed, and there is no allergen or pyrrolizidine-alkaloid statement.

Can LungExpand Pro help with asthma, COPD, or shortness of breath?

No. LungExpand Pro is a dietary supplement, and nothing in it replaces a bronchodilator, an inhaled steroid, oxygen, or pulmonary rehabilitation. The only long-term trial of any ingredient, a 24-week study of the pelargonium extract EPs 7630 in COPD, tested it as an add-on to standard inhaler treatment, not instead of it, and used a stated dose of a liquid extract this tablet does not disclose. The 2023 Cochrane review found vitamin D does not reduce asthma attacks. If you have persistent shortness of breath, a cough lasting more than three weeks, wheeze, chest pain, or you cough up blood, see a clinician; those symptoms need a diagnosis, not a supplement, and if you already have asthma or COPD keep taking your prescribed treatment exactly as directed.

Is coltsfoot in LungExpand Pro safe?

It is the ingredient we would ask the vendor about before buying. Coltsfoot (Tussilago farfara) naturally contains pyrrolizidine alkaloids such as senkirkine and senecionine, which are toxic to the liver and can cause hepatic veno-occlusive disease with repeated exposure. Germany and other countries restrict coltsfoot products to alkaloid-free cultivars or set strict alkaloid limits. LungExpand Pro's label lists 'Coltsfoot Extract (flower)' inside a 500 mg blend with no amount and no statement that the alkaloids were removed or tested. The dose per tablet is probably small, but 'probably small' is not what you want to hear about a liver toxin you plan to take daily for three months. If you have liver disease, drink heavily, take medications processed by the liver, or are pregnant, skip this product; everyone else should stop immediately and see a doctor if they develop abdominal pain, dark urine, or yellowing of the skin or eyes.

Is LungExpand Pro safe with medications?

Ask your pharmacist first. Two ingredients matter. Serratiopeptidase is a fibrinolytic enzyme, and case reports describe bleeding when it is combined with anticoagulants or antiplatelet drugs, so do not take it with warfarin, apixaban, rivaroxaban, aspirin, or clopidogrel without medical advice, and stop it two weeks before surgery. Coltsfoot's pyrrolizidine alkaloids add to the liver load of drugs such as methotrexate, statins, and long-term acetaminophen. Vitamin D3 at 800 IU adds to any other vitamin D you take and interacts with thiazide diuretics and digoxin at high total intakes. Pelargonium and ivy are generally well tolerated but can cause nausea. The label also warns against use under 18 or during pregnancy or nursing, and advises anyone with a medical condition to consult a physician.

LungExpand Pro vs Breathe: which is better?

They take different approaches. LungExpand Pro is a one-a-day tablet built on pelargonium, ivy leaf, and 800 IU of vitamin D3, with serratiopeptidase, mullein, coltsfoot, and peppermint oil in a 500 mg undisclosed blend and a 60-day guarantee. Breathe is a liquid drop formula built on mullein, eucalyptus, peppermint, manuka honey, elderberry, and echinacea with a 90-day guarantee, and it contains no pyrrolizidine-alkaloid plant. LungExpand Pro has the stronger trial record for its two lead herbs, but only for a week of infection cough and only in liquid form; Breathe has the longer guarantee, the cleaner safety profile, and the immediate airway-soothing effect from eucalyptus. For most people, Breathe is our pick; read our full Breathe review at /reviews/breathe, and the side-by-side is at /compare/breathe-vs-lungexpand-pro.

What if LungExpand Pro doesn't work for me?

Use the guarantee, and use it on time. Email contact@lungexpandpro-product.com with 'Refund Request' in the subject before day 60 from delivery, keep the packing slip, and mail every bottle back to the Tallmadge, Ohio address with tracking so you have proof of receipt. Refunds are processed 5-10 days after the package arrives. If you have an order question rather than a product question, DigiStore24's customer self-service portal handles receipts and order lookups, and DigiStore24 has its own buyer-protection process if the vendor does not respond. And if the reason it did not work is that your breathing is getting worse, that is a doctor's appointment, not a reorder.

Get honest health tips & reviews

Join our newsletter for science-backed supplement reviews and wellness advice.

No spam. Unsubscribe anytime.

Compare LungExpand Pro With: